Enyimba crowned NPFL champions

Enyimba have secured their eighth league title following their 2-1 win over Akwa United on Wednesday in their final match of the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) Super Six.

Goals from Rueben Bala, Stanley Dimgba and Abdulrahman Bashir ensured that the People’s Elephant secured maximum points against the Promise Keepers to end the championship play-offs with an unassailable 12 points.

After netting two goals in the last game against Ifeanyi Ubah, coach Usman  Abd’Allah retained Bala upfront with the duo of Stanley Dimgba and Bashir Abdulrahman getting starting roles.

On his part, the Akwa United coach handed Mfon Udoh a starting role, having opted to have the top striker come in from the bench in the last two games.

Aniefiok Godspower and Marshal Johnson got starts against the People’s Elephant. After a slow or rather cautious start by both teams, Udoh almost got the lead against his former club Emyimba but while he directed his header at goal, it was well-saved by Theophilus Afelokhai in goal for the People’s Elephant.

Enyimba responded with a big chance of their own minutes after, as the left-footed free kick by Joseph Osadiaye stung the palms of Akwa keeper Emmanuel Iwu and the follow-up volley by Bashir clipped the crossbar and went over.

Both teams kept pushing for the crucial opening goal and it was Enyimba that found a way in the 43rd minute when Osadiaye got the ball across for Bala who bundled it home past Iwu despite the challenge of an Akwa defender. Enyimba were relieved to take the slim lead into the break.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Follow by Email